Home | Features | Politics | Montana Elections

Montana Elections

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

There's a full slate of candidates to chose from in Montana's national Senate and House races. Incumbent Max Baucus, a Democrat, is being challenged for his Senate position by Republican Mike Taylor, Libertarian Stan Jones, and Green party candidate Bob Kelleher.

In the U.S. Representative's race, incumbent Republican Denny Rehberg is running against Democrat Steve Kelly and Libertarian Mike Fellows.

House District #71 is voting for a state representative between Republican incumbent Sylvia Bookout-Reinicke and Democratic contender Patrick Hayes. House District #72 pits Democrat Paul Clark against a blank line on the ballot.

District #3 county commissioner Hank Laws, a Republican, is being challenged by Independent Carolyn Trochmann.

Republicans Pat Ingraham, Mark A. Denke, Bob Zimmerman and Carol Turk are running unopposed for, in order, County Clerk & Recorder Assessor, County Coroner, County Attorney and County Treasurer/Superintendent of Schools. Democrat Suzanne Cooperman is running unopposed for the position of Public Administrator. 

There is a non-partisan contest for Justice of the Peace between Robert L. Beitz and Charles N. Link.

The hot race in Sanders County is for Sheriff. Incumbent Gene Arnold, Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Lynn E. Lanzoni and Independent Samuel J. Tomas, Jr.

In addition, voters in Sanders County are being asked to repeal the Sanders County Resolution No. 2000-032, "A Resolution to Create the Sanders County Planning Board."

Montana voters will also decide on two state Supreme Court Justice positions. For the position of Justice #1, Jim Rice is running unopposed. In position #4, voters will choose between Robert Eddleman and Bill Leaphart. Both were nominated without a party designation. For the position of District Court Judge in District 20, Dept. 1, voters are asked whether Judge C.B. McNeil should be retained in office for another term.

There are four constitutional amendments on the Montana ballot. In amendment #36, voters are asked whether the Montana Board of Investments should be allowed to invest a maximum of 25% of a local government group's self-insurance program assets in common stock. Currently, they may not invest in common stock.

Amendment #37 would allow the signature requirement for constitutional initiatives to be increased to at least one-half of the counties rather than the two-fifths of counties as currently allowed.

Amendment #38 would increase signature requirements for statutory initiatives from one-third of counties to one-half.

Amendment #39 asks voters to allow the investment of public funds, including school trust funds, in private, corporate capital stock, which they are currently not allowed to do.

Referendum #117 calls for changing provisions in electric deregulation, while Referendum #145 asks to create a public power commission. Initiative #146 asks voters to dedicate 49% of Montana's yearly tobacco settlement funds to tobacco disease prevention and toward expanding access to health insurance programs.

Polls will open at 7:00 a.m. and will continue to be open until 8:00 p.m. on election day at the following locations:

Precinct #1- Paradise- Clubhouse; Precinct #2- Plains- Senior Citizen's Center; Precinct #2A- Plains- Plains High School; Precinct #4- Thompson Falls- Thompson Falls High School; Precinct #4A- Thompson Falls- Courthouse; Precinct #6- Whitepine- Grange Hall; Precinct #7- Trout Creek- Trout Creek School; Precinct #8- Noxon - Emergency Services Building; Precinct #9- Heron - Heron Community Center; Precinct #11- Dixon- Senior Citizen's Center; Precinct #12- Hot Springs- Senior Citizen's Center.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image:

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Author info

Landon Otis

Tagged as:

Politics, Montana, constitutional amendments, Sanders County, elections, Max Baucus, Mike Taylor, Stan Jones, Bob Kelleher, Denny Rehberg, Steve Kelly, Mike Fellows, Sylvia Bookout-Reinicke, Patrick Hayes, Paul Clark, Hank Laws, Carolyn Trochmann, Pat Ingraham, Mark A Denke, Bob Zimmerman, Carol Turk, Suzanne Cooperman, Robert L Beitz, Charles N Link, Gene Arnold, Lynn E Lanzoni, Samuel J Tomas Jr, Planning Board

Rate this article